• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

What is H2020?

The European Union’s Horizon 2020 Programme (H2020) is the EU’s main instrument for financing research and innovation in Europe. It will last from 2014 until 2020, with a budget of nearly 80 billion Euros.

H2020 replaces the Seventh Framework Programme (FP7) and combines all of the research and innovation funding previously provided by the EU: The Framework Program (FP), innovation aspects of Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme (CIP), and EU contribution to the European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT).

The new programme is based on three pillars: excellent science, industrial leadership, and societal challenges, and finances all types of activities from frontier research to close-to market innovation. The programme is open for applications from research centres, universities or private companies, as well as researchers, both individually and through a consortium from Europe or Third Countries.

More Information:

Search for Project Partners:

About CEST+I

The CEST+I (Chile-European Union STI Initiative) project is financed by the European Union -through its Seventh Framework Programme (FP7)-  and the National Commission for Scientific and Technological Research of the Chilean Government (CONICYT). The purpose of this project is to support the enhancement of science, technology and innovation cooperation between the European Union, member states, associated countries and Chile.

Contact Details

European Union Programme

International Cooperation Programme (PCI)

CONICYT - National Commision For Scientific and Technological Research

Moneda 1375, 7th Floor



Tel: (56-2) 2365.4421
Fax (56-2) 2655.1396


This web site was developed with funds of the European Union under the scope of the CEST+ I project (Grant Agreement 311974) of the Capacities programme under the Seventh Framework Programme. The content of the web site is the sole responsibility of CONICYT and can in no way be taken to reflect the views of the European Union.